Best Student Paper/Presentation Award


In 2010, the IRMMW-THz Society Board voted to implement an annual "Best Student Paper Prize" to recognize original contributions to the conference from outstanding student attendees. A cash prize is awarded to 1st, 2nd and 3rd place papers through a committee selection and voting process.

Selection Process

Candidates may apply for the award when they upload their conference Abstracts. If they have more than one submission, students must choose only ONE paper for consideration.

To qualify, candidates must be full time students at the time of Abstract submission, they must have been fully responsible for the work that is being judged. If the student is shortlisted as a finalist, a letter or statement of support will be requested from their advisor that verifies their status as a student and their responsibility for the paper.

The International Advisory Board will review all the entries and preselect 6 candidates for individual presentations to a prize committee during a special session at the 2014 conference. Each candidate must present his/her paper in person at the session.

The time and location of the presentations will be communicated to the six finalists well in advance of the conference. All finalists are expected to attend the conference and make their presentations to the prize committee in order to qualify for one of the 3 awards.

Winners are announced at the conference banquet or at one of the Plenary sessions.

The IRMMW-THz 2015 Student Award finalists and their paper titles are:


Presentation Title


Kang Liu

Study of THz Emission from Ring-Airy Beam Induced Plasma


Marianne Grognot

Quantitative Measurement of Permeabilization in Living Cells by Terahertz Attenuated Total Reflection


Nezih Yardimci

High Power Pulsed Terahertz Radiation from Large Area Photoconductive Emitters


Matthew Swithenbank

On-chip Terahertz Spectroscopy of Liquid Mixtures 


Gaël Kervella

Low Phase Noise Fully Integrated Millimeter-wave Photonic Source using Cross Injection Locking


Jacobs Kristof

A Dual-pass High Current Density Resonant Tunnelling Diode Terahertz Emitter


 The finalists will present their work to the Student Award Committee in a closed session on Wednesday 26th August. The winner will be announced and awards presented during the Conference Banquet on Thursday 27th August.